The Thirst for Appreciation

Everybody loves appreciation and everyone wants to be appreciated. End of story. Just kidding, that’s not the end. But why do we as humans tend to seek appreciation so much? Why is it so pleasurable to us? Why is it so discouraging and upsetting when we feel like we aren’t appreciated?

I’ve came to realize lately that appreciation is something that every human being thirsts for everyday. Weather you are the richest man on Earth or the poorest, it doesn’t matter. You want to be appreciated by your family, friends, teachers, leaders, classmates, etc. But why? Well, when someone appreciates you, you feel LOVED. You feel like what you did was right, that you were noticed, that you weren’t just some worthless piece of trash but you actually mean something. This feeling of being of “worth” and being loved is so thirsted for by the heart that sometimes, you would do anything to feel appreciated. When the people who are closest to you suddenly don’t acknowledge your existence or don’t give back the love and appreciation, you feel hurt. You feel as if you mean nothing to the world. You think, “If my parents and best friends don’t even appreciate me, then no one does. Maybe I am useless”. It’s hard to think that you are loved and wanted by someone if you don’t feel appreciated, because appreciating a person means recognizing the full worth of who they are.

I’m going to go ahead and give a personal example of this in my life. Friends and friendships have always been a problem for me. I’ve never had one of those “best friends since kindergarten”. Really, if I were to tell you who I talked to and hung out with throughout my life, the people changed every year. I was always seeking for people who I could be happy and friends with for the rest of my life, but it wasn’t easy. Especially when sometimes I was looking in the wrong direction. It wasn’t until freshmen year of high school that I was able to have a stable group of friends but even then, there were moments I felt that my existence wasn’t really appreciated and that I wasn’t completely loved by even my best friend. But despite those moments, I was truly happy because I came to learn about something called selfless love. Now that’s another topic that I will write about one day but for now, I’m just going to say that yes appreciation is truly important, but sometimes we have to be selfless and love even when we aren’t loved back. We have to keep going and `continue to be happy and appreciative even when we aren’t receiving it back. Because selfless love makes this dark world a better place. When we selflessly love, that’s when true happiness kicks in. After coming to learn about selfless love, I realized that my life was great and that I WAS loved and appreciated no matter what.

So to sum up, appreciation is something everyone seeks. And YOU can help spread that love. Do it. Right now. Go call up your friends and family and tell them how much they mean to you and how much you love them. Go wish the people you pass by in public a good morning. Spread the appreciation wherever you go. 🙂

Leave a Reply

